Splitsville – turning lifes upside down since the first “I do”.

Splitsville 3

So it finally happened. My parents finally got around to announcing what we all knew was coming. Is it strange that I still burst into tear? It is odd that, considering I knew it was coming, my heart still pounded against my chest, leaving me feeling as though I had just sprinted across China. Twice.

I know it is for the best but the finality of it still shocked me. Does it make me an awful person to admit that, in a weird way, I am relieved? My parents deserve happiness. They have scarified so much for my brother and me. I can only hope that everything will work out for the best and that we will all be happy in the end.

I would be lying if I told you that I am taking this allΒ in my stride. My world has been turned upside down and there is nothing I can do about it.Β I cant stop my dad from moving out. I cant help that I feel it is my duty to care for my brother. I cant ignore the fact that responsibly is knocking on my door and paying for my studies and a new mode of transport is more important than going over seas. It breaks my heart, really.

I used to take much delight in bragging about the fact that my parents were still married. It is a rare phenomenon nowadays. That little girl that is still very much alive inside of me is crying out. She is being forced to face reality and grow up a little sooner than planned. Thank goodness that little girl is very strong and thank goodness she has the most wonderful brother and friends to help flip her world the right way round. I know she will get through this. I know everyone involved will.

It is just going to be a little awkies when the parents introduce there new love interests to my brother and me. It seems a tad backwards, don’t you think?

But, shit happens. Divorce is a bitch. And life goes on.

Just like sang by the lovely Elsa:

Let it go, let it go
Turn away and slam the door
I don’t care
what they’re going to say
Let the storm rage on.
The cold never bothered me anyway

May many good things come from this tragedy.

Angie

xx

13 responses to “Splitsville – turning lifes upside down since the first “I do”.

  1. I stopped myself from pressing the like button here. It just felt inappropriate. But I feel compelled to say something that might make you feel better. But I don’t think I can. I salute your strength and the fact that you are hopeful. Please stay that way! Don’t let the little girl inside you fade away due to a reality that was just meant to be. And I know this may sound like a cliche’ but really, things do always happen for the better. In the long run, everything will make sense. I hope a virtual hug helps, if nothing else.

    • Thank you Nida. I appreciate your kind words. I will try my utmost best to remain positive. πŸ™‚ Don’t worry, my inner little girl has a fighting spirit so she wont be going down without a fight. I tend the agree with that clichΓ©. It will probably get worst before it gets better but such is life. Oh you! Thanks for the hug πŸ™‚ x

  2. The brightest light is at the end of the darkest tunnel.
    I could think of a hundred analogies and representations for divorce and the pain it drags along with it…
    But in the end, you and only you determine how it will affect you.

  3. I am so sorry to hear the news you have shared with us. I am not going to lie to you and say that everything will be OK, because having gone though the same situation when I was only 13 and my sister was 9, it was very difficult to take in what was happening. But, both my parents went on to marry new loving partners and could not have been any happier with their new life’s.
    What is meant to be, happens for a reason and the hard times ahead will blossom into something which you will all come to accept. Not only do my sister and I have wonderful parents, but we now have a wonderful step father and step mother who have made our parents live’s so much more happier than when they were together. I hope it will not be too long before both your brother and yourself see that light at the end of the tunnel.

    • Thank you for the support dear Hugh, May I ask, how old are you at the moment? I sure you hope you are right. I can only hope that my parents will meet new lovely partners and that they can all be friends in the end of this. I am looking forward to seeing that light you speak of! πŸ˜›

      • You are very welcome. I am 52 now so, yes, it all happened a very long time ago. My world caved in when they separated and then I realised they both needed my support after what they were going though, so I did all I could to support them both during this sad time. We all came out of it at the end and, as I said before, both my parents were better off for what had happened. Take care and don’t hesitate to ask if you have any more questions about this.

      • Wow, that is quite a while back. You could have passed as a 20 year old in my books πŸ˜‰
        I am trying my best to support both parents and to stay neutral through this whole ordeal.
        Thank you. I will be sure to ask if I need to. πŸ™‚

  4. Divorce sucks, but you are a trooper. I’m sure you (and your family) will get through this! Hang in there and give that little girl inside a tight hug πŸ˜‰ x

  5. Hey angie! Is it weird or what that I started following you around the time that my parents got divorced as well and my mom marrying another guy? I feel you. The end of a relationship, specially marriage is heart breaking. Truly, heart breaking. My parent were living physically away for a while and emotionally away for the last 19 years. But when they finally divorced, it was like a stake in my heart.
    Well I’m sorry you have to go through hardships and face such difficulty in lie at a young age.
    If you feel like talking to someone, or asking for advice you can add me on Facebook or message me here. My social media links are on my about me page.
    Good luck!! πŸ˜€

    • Hey hey! Wow… talk about a coincidence and a half. I guess we are in the exact same boat considering my mom already has a new man in her life! *gasp*
      I know exactly what you are talking about. Thank you so much for the support! I really appreciate it. I seem to be coping quite well but I will be sure to contact you if I need some help. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

