Gays. Lesbians. Bisexuals. Straights. They are all people, are they not?

imagesU6N1V1UQ

Hey you. Yes, you. What are your thoughts on homosexuality?

Just in case we aren’t on the same page, homosexuality can be defined as the sexual attraction to people of the same sex. Did you read that right? PEOPLE of the same sex. Not dogs, or aliens, or faggots – PEOPLE.

Another thing, just because people who are attracted to the opposite sex are known as ‘straight’ doesn’t mean that homosexuals should be labelled as ‘twisted’, ‘skew’ or ‘broken’.

It is no secret that gays and lesbians are faced with many difficulties when it comes to being with other people of the same sex – let alone same sex marriages. I can’t help but wonder why? I would just like to point out that there was once a time when mix race marriages were highly disapproved of. Look how society has given that the big thumbs up? If people of different races have the right to be in love and express this love via marriage, why can’t homosexuals?

I personally have absolutely no problem with gays or lesbians. Hell, there was a stage during my awkward pubic years where I thought I might be bisexual. Does that change the way you look at me? If it does, you ought to get your head out your arse and take a look at the bigger picture. It is not against the law to love or lust after someone so why should it be shunned upon is that special someone happens to be of the same sex as you. Why would we, as a society, allow homosexuals feel so unaccepted and alienated that suicide becomes an option? As a society, this should be one of our biggest shames.

All I am trying to say is that you can’t judge someone, or treat them differently, because they might be a little different from you. Love is a beautiful thing, no matter how it presents itself.

Gays and lesbians should proud of who they are – the same goes for straight people. Society should have no right to dictate who you can and can’t love. It is as simple as that.

The sooner we learn to genuinely except others without judging them based on their personal choices or preferences, the happier we will.

I went to school with a boy named Stephan Casey. He is gay and proud of it. Here is his story:

“I decided to come out of the closet about six months ago. Interestingly enough, it was as if I did not actually accept myself until I had the courage to share my homosexuality with the world. I am quite a spontaneous person but I can also be very indecisive so after a lot of contemplation, I ended up suddenly deciding to come out of the closet in a Facebook status. In a way, I am actually quite glad I made that decision because it gave me a platform to tell my story once and a lot of people would hear it. Coming out over and over again can become a very tedious process and it actually does not really get much easier because of the reactions of the people you tell will always differ. Before coming out publicly, I had to come out to my immediate family and that was the most difficult part of my experience. I expected my father to struggle with it the most and my mother to be the most understanding but I was wrong about that. My father took a bit of time to silently process the idea and eventually come to terms with it but my mother (who even has had a lot of gay friends throughout her life), had the most trouble accepting it. They are also not extremely comfortable with the idea that they will probably not get to have grandchildren of their own. The only advice I can give in terms of trying to get your parents to understand what is happening is to share stories with them about other children that ended up losing their lives (due to suicide) as a result of their parent’s inability to accept them for who they really are and, honestly, your sexual orientation is as much a part of you as the colour of your skin or the size of your nose. It cannot be changed. It can only be supressed or artificially modified and neither of those options are very healthy for your emotional welfare. I surely hope that my testimony can shed some light onto this issue and give some hope to people who are in the process of accepting themselves.”

Feel free to comment and share your thoughts on this matter.

Angie

Xx

Twitter: @Pange22

Instagram: delamere0322

Leave a Reply

